TraceTogether adopts a community-driven approach to combat the spread of COVID-19. When phones with TraceTogether installed are nearby other devices participating in the TraceTogether Programme, they exchange anonymised proximity information using Bluetooth. This Bluetooth data is stored only on the phone, and data for longer than 25 days is automatically deleted from your device. The Ministry of Health will approach you to upload your data if it’s needed for contact tracing.
Once contact tracing ceases, all personal contact tracing data that was collected will be deleted as soon as practicable.